Navagraha or the Nine Planets has great importance in Hinduism and Hindu rituals. Navagrahas are considered to play a major role in deciding the destiny of man. The Navagrahas are 

Surya (Sun), 

Chandra (Moon),

 Mangal (Mars),

 Budha (Mercury), 

Brihaspati (Jupiter),

 Shukra (Venus), 

Shani (Saturn), 

Rahu (North Lunar Node) 

and Ketu (South Lunar Node).

 It is believed that these nine planetary deities influence human lives and is responsible for all good or bad times, one faces in life. 

It could be noticed that the Sun is placed in the centre and this has been so from ancient times as Hindus knew that all the planets go round the Sun. The different planet icons are draped in clothes of different colours signifying the respective planets. For example Mars, the red planet is draped in red. Saturn the cold dark planet is draped in black and the two luminous planets, the Moon and Venus are draped in white